Blog Entry-6/3/16

A close family of mine has just had a terrible tragedy. I have grown up with them almost all my life and a main member died a traumatic way. They need prayers of comfort and love revealed during this time.

Well these two days I feel like have been as long as a year! A time of growth and tragedy, a time to try to move on and mature, just so much going on.

It started on Wednesday. My brothers were planning on going to a bar in Philly and perform for Open Mic. I was getting ready to tell someone I knew from the past about how well I was doing when I was devastated by news.

The death. No one saw it coming. I worried and sent a message then called the family member that made the post. We cried as we talked. Then I told members I was planning to see them as soon as I could the next day… it was horrible to not see them, even panic because they were going through this and I felt like I could only do this stupid show!

I thought I was helpless with this music thing and had to leave it up to God for the moment. Boy, that was so tough.

I hurt for this family… I loved the mother like my own…


 

After knocking some sense into some people about what had happened (haha, just kidding guys, hope you’re not reading this!) they wanted to comfort me. They were worried like crazy about an entertainment show at a place far from here that they had hoped to go to and then found out about the death.

They realized immediately how serious it was.

While I was gathering my bearings I made them some breakfast. Was surprised I fed myself but I had to get some nourishment.

Making coffee then toast with some peanut butter, honey and sunflower seeds. I also gave the two people (one my bro!) a hard-boiled egg each since they hadn’t eaten yet.

After a slow, agonizing few hours we eventually got to do a quick rundown of our songs.

Then we headed out to get to the Septa travelling, just the two bros and I!

Getting there it was so awesome to see in person a guy there leading the Open Mic (and he also was playing songs for the people there with his well-known band). I hope he will be alright and care about him a lot.

We got to perform and again we had sound issues. Oh well… I have got to learn to get right into the mic, almost kiss it when I sing (haha!).

Anyway awesome bands played. Indie music is pretty awesome. I thought one big highlight was FLNG. They played awesome! Also I got to talk to Rob McCall. He was doing some great stuff and after it was all over we walked most of the way toward our Subway destination and chatted with him.

I told him that my one bro and I had this band years ago. We just never played a note, hahaha!

Then I told him stuff as to why I wasn’t able to go to all Open Mics and he said, that is great. I was involved in ministry at my church.

He saw us off and we said good bye. Then we headed home. Oh yeah just because I was being silly I thought before we got there to write on my knuckles, a “tattoo” as it were.

People that know me know what the subject was. Rabbits!

I put on the eight fingers “I heart bunny” then an outline of a bunny face. I am weird, if you don’t know that you don’t know me, hahahaha!

Anyway I got home, ate and went to bed.

Then I got to see the family the next day….


 

Well it’s just crazy how drastic life can be at times. None of us can get used to it but we always have to adjust. It’s sometimes hard, very hard but you and I can find the strength to carry on if you have faith. Thank God if you know Him!

 

Leave a Reply

